Half way there: 2012

I wrote a letter to my future self on New Year’s Eve, 2011, essentially laying out my goals for this year. Since it is half way through 2012, let’s take a look at what I projected and what’s yet to be done. Publishing my goals has been my key to accountability. How am I doing?

  • Feb. 15 – Reach and maintain 163 weight – Done.
  • Feb. 18 – Climb La Cumbre Peak with son Evan – Rescheduled to July 13 and climbing Cathedral Peak instead.
  • Mar. 11 – Run Shamrock’n Sacramento Half Marathon under 2 hours – Rescheduled to July 29 in San Francisco Half. Training times are on track.
  • May 6 – Finish Delta Century 100-mile bike ride – Done in 7.5 hours.
  • Oct. 7 – Run Chicago Marathon under 5 hours with brothers Jeff and Brad – Planning to run/walk and celebrate my brother being a cancer survivor for 2 years now!
  • Raise $4000 for MMRF from book sales – $700 in proceeds so far, need to step it up.
  • Achieve excellent performance rating in my job at Cisco – Done.
  • Give 4 motivational speeches to non-profit organizations – I’ve performed the keynote draft at Toastmasters. One speech is scheduled for Chicago Marathon volunteers in October. Contact me if you are interested in scheduling me as a speaker for your organization.

I’ve had to make a lot of changes due to life getting in the way, but I’m still making progress.  For me… making adjustments is fine. Giving up is not.

Explore posts in the same categories: Motivation

Leave a Reply

